Redirection effects

Redirection effects are a special kind of replacement effects, so all the rules that apply to replacement effects apply to redirection effects as well. Redirection effects (and only them) always use the words is dealt to something else instead.

Sometimes, after a redirection effect has been set up, the new recipient of damage disappears (for example it's sacrificed if it's a creature, or leaves the game if it's a player) or stops being able to receive damage (for example it becomes an enchantment[1]). In this case, the redirection effect will do nothing, and the original recipient of the damage will take it.

Example. My opponent casts Lightning Bolt targeting one of my creatures, and I respond activating Oracle's Attendants ability, that resolves, creating a replacement effect. Then my opponent casts Doom Blade targeting my Oracle's Attendants, and destroys it. When Lightning Bolt resolves, the redirection effect does nothing, and my creature takes the damage.





  1. I'm looking at you, Soul Sculptor!
En.png
English
It.png
Italian
Fr.png
French
Es.png
Spanish
Pt.png
Portuguese
Ru.png
Russian